The county is copiously watered by the numerous branches of the Foyle, which, under the names of the Munterlony, the Poe, the Mourne, the Carnown, the Owenkellow, and the Owenreagh, rise in the mountainous central districts: the Derg joins the Mourne from a lough of its own name; the Dennet empties itself into the Foyle near the northern boundary of the county.

The Foyle, which forms part of the western boundary, is navigable to St. Johnstown, and thence by an artificial navigation between three and four miles farther up to Strabane. The Ballinderry river forms part of the north-eastern boundary.

The Blackwater, which forms part of the southern boundary, and discharges itself into Lough Neagh, is navigable to Moy and Blackwatertown: near the mouth of this river a canal proceeds from the lake to Coal Island, and more than half a century since was partially opened above New Mills, but this latter part of the undertaking was abandoned before the canal was completed.

The beauty of the scenery in several parts is much enhanced by woods and plantations. Large tracts of land near Baron's Court, and Rash or Mountjoy forest, have been planted since 1795. Near Augher and Favour Royal there are considerable natural woods, and throughout the greater part of the county the soil appears disposed to throw up a spontaneous growth of timber, but in too many instances the young trees are neglected and the cattle suffered to browse upon them.

Near Strabane are many large and well-stocked orchards. The roads are numerous, and in general judiciously laid out and kept in good repair. A new line is now in progress of formation from Omagh by Mountfield, Kildress, and Cookstown to Belfast. The roads are all made and repaired by county presentments.

County Tyrone | Tyrone Towns and Baronies | Tyrone Topography | Tyrone Climate | Tyrone Agriculture | Tyrone Geology | Tyrone Manufacturing | Tyrone Rivers | Tyrone Antiquities | Tyrone Society | Tyrone Springs

Search Topographical Dictionary of Ireland »