The county is partly in the diocese of Armagh, partly in that of Kilmore, but chiefly in that of Meath. For purposes of civil jurisdiction it is divided into the baronies of Upper Deece, Lower Deece, Demifore, Upper Duleek, Lower Duleek, Dunboyne, Upper Kells, Lower Kells, Lune, Morgallion, Upper Moyfenrath, Lower Moyfenrath, Upper Navan, Lower Navan, Ratoath, Skreen, Upper Slane, and Lower Slane. It contains the disfranchised borough, market, assize, and post-town of Trim; the disfranchised borough of Duleek; the disfranchised boroughs, market, and post-towns of Kells, Navan, and Athboy; the market and post-town of Slane; and the post-towns of Ashbourne, Clonard, Clonee, Crossakeel, Dunshaughlin, Enfield, Nobber,and Oldcastle. The principal villages are Carlanstown, Dunboyne, Mornington, Ratoath, and Rathmolion.

The county sent 14 members to the Irish parliament, two for the county, and two for each of the boroughs of Athboy, Duleek, Kells, Navan, Ratoath, and Trim. Since the Union its representation has been confined to the two members for the county: the election is held at Trim. The constituency, as registered at the close of Hilary sessions, 1836, was 581 £50, 260 £20, and 781 £10 freeholders; and 48 £20 and 198 £10 leaseholders; making a total of 1868 registered electors. It is included in the Home circuit: the assizes are held at Trim, in which town the county gaol and court-house are situated; and there are sessions-houses and bridewells at Navan, Kells, and Dunshaughlin. The Easter and October general quarter sessions are held at the two latter towns, and the Hilary and Midsummer sessions at Trim and Navan. The local government is vested in a lieutenant, 19 deputy-lieutenants, and 105 other magistrates, aided by the usual county officers, including two coroners.

The district lunatic asylum is in Dublin; the county infirmary at Navan; there are fever hospitals at Kells and Navan; and dispensaries at Crossakeel, Oldcastle, Clonard, Moynalty, Raddingstown, Kentstown, Stamullen, Trim, Maher, Duleek, Kells, Balliver, Julianstown, Athboy, Dunboyne, Slane, Agher, Kilmainham Wood, Drumconrath, Wilkinstown, Kilmore, and Skreen. There are 46 constabulary police stations, having in the whole a force of an inspector, a paymaster, a stipendiary magistrate, 7 officers, 54 constables, 279 sub-constables, and 9 horses. There are two coast-guard stations belonging to the S words district; one at the, mouth of the Boyne, the other on the Nanny water. The amount of Grand Jury presentments for 1835 was £25,783. 4. 3 ½., of which £475. 16. 10 ½. was for the roads, bridges, &c., of the county at large; £9475. 17. 2 ½. for the roads, bridges, &c., of the several baronies; £7914. 8. 10. for public buildings, charities, officers' salaries and incidents; £6280. 5. 11 ½ for the police, and £1636. 15. 5. for repayment of advances from Government.

In the military arrangements the county is included in the eastern district, and contains three barrack stations, one for cavalry at Navan, and two for infantry at Trim and New Inn; affording in the whole accommodation for seven officers, 163 non-commissioned officers and men, and 50 horses.

County Meath | Meath Baronies and Towns | Meath Soil | Meath Agriculture | Meath Trees | Meath Geology | Meath Manufacturing | Meath Rivers | Meath Antiquities | Meath Society | Diocese of Meath

Search Topographical Dictionary of Ireland »