The principal rivers are the Suir, the Blackwater, and the Bride. The Suir forms a great part of the northern, and its estuary the whole of the eastern, boundary of the county; it is navigable to the city of Waterford for vessels of the greatest draught, and to Carrick-on-Suir for those drawing 11 feet. The Blackwater, formerly called the Awendubh and Avonmore, "the Black river" and "the Great river," enters the county at its western extremity and falls into Youghal bay; the Bride from the west is a tributary to it: vessels of 100 tons' burden can proceed to the confluence of these rivers.

The Blackwater is navigable for barges of 70 tons to Cappoquin, from which a canal was formed by the late Duke of Devonshire to Lismore, a distance of three miles; the Bride, which has a very slow current, and is affected by the tide throughout, the whole of its course through this county, is also navigable for small craft. The Neir is a tributary to the Suir.

The principal of the smaller streams which discharge their contents into the sea are the Tay, Colligein, Mahon, Phinisk, Bricky (which falls into the head of Dungarvan bay), Clodagh, and Lickey.

The principal line of inland communication is the mail road from Waterford to Cork, which forms a trust and is called the military road: it is kept in excellent order by the proceeds of the tolls. Several new lines have been formed: the principal are, a road from Dungarvan to Youghal; two through the mountains from Dungarvan to Youghal; one from Cappoquin into the mountain region there; one from Waterford to Tramore, completed in 1836; one from Lismore to Mitchelstown; one from Lismore to Clogheen, now in progress; and one from the new Youghal line to Ardmore.

County Waterford | Waterford Towns and Baronies | Waterford Topography | Waterford Agriculture | Waterford Geology | Waterford Manufacturing | Waterford Rivers | Waterford Antiquities | Waterford City

Search Topographical Dictionary of Ireland »