The Plantation of Ulster

Some of the Irish chiefs having adhered to the famous Hugh O’Neill, Earl of Tyrone, in the war against Elizabeth, six entire counties in Ulster, namely Armagh, Tyrone, Derry, Donegal, Fermanagh, and Cavan, were confiscated. In the beginning of the seventeenth century, in the reign of King James the First, these territories were transferred to some English, but mostly Scottish settlers, denominated Undertakers and Planters: hence, the project was called the “Plantation of Ulster.”