Modern Nobility in Tir Owen

In the survey of Ulster by Captain Pynnar, A.D. 1619, as stated in Harris's Hibernica, the following English and Scotch families are given as those who settled in Tyrone: Hamilton—the earl of Abercorn (more lately the title was "marquis," and now, in 1881, his grace the Duke of Abercorn is the representative of that ancient family), Sir George Hamilton, Sir Claude Hamilton, Sir Robert Newcomen, Sir John Drummond, the Earl of Castlehaven, Sir William Stewart, Sir John Davis, the Lord Ridgeway, George Ridgeway, Sir Gerrard Lowther, the Lord Burley, Sir Francis Willoughby, Sir William Cope, John Leigh, William Parsons, Sir Robert Heyborne; Stewart, Lord of Uchiltree; Captain Saunderson, Robert Lindsay, Alexander Richardson, Andrew Stewart, David Kennedy, the Lord Chichester, Sir Toby Caulfield, Sir Francis Roe, Sir Francis Annesley, and the Lord Wingfield.

Since the reign of James the First the following noble families have settled in Tyrone:—the Le Poers were earls of Tyrone, a title which afterwards passed by intermarriage to the Beresfords. Blount, viscounts Mountjoy, a title which afterwards

passed to the families of Stewart and Gardiner. Trevor, viscounts Dungannon. Stewart viscounts Castlestewart. Knox, earls of Ranfurley. And Alexander, barons of Caledon.

Derry: In the reign of Elizabeth, "O'Cahan's Country" was formed by Sir John Perrott into a county, which was called from its chief town, the "County of Colerain;" and in the reign of James the First, on the plantation of Ulster, a company of undertakers, consisting of merchants and traders from London, got grants of the "County of Colerain," and town of Derry: hence the city and county got the name of "London-derry."

Derry, in Irish, "Doire," signifies an Oak Wood; and the town was anciently called "Doire-Calgach," signifying the Oak Wood of Calgach, from a chief of that name; and afterwards "Derry-Columbkille," from the abbey founded there by that saint. The territory which now forms the county Derry was part of Tir-Eoghain or Tirowen; and O'Cahan being the head chief it was called "O'Cahan's Country."

Derry is Latinized "Derria."

The following noble families derive their titles from this county:—The family of Pitt, formerly marquises of Londonderry, a title now possessed by the Stewarts. Hamilton, earls (now Dukes) of Abercorn, and barons of Strabane. The families of Hare and Hanger, barons of Coleraine.

Part of ancient Tyrone was, about A.D. 1585, formed into the county Tyrone by the lord deputy Sir John Perrott. The ancient "Tir-Eogain" has been Latinized "Tironia," and sometimes "Eugenia." Tirowen in later times was called "O'Neill's Country."