Modern Nobility in Meath

The following families settled in Meath in early times:—

1. De Genevllle succeeded the De Lacys as lords of Meath: and afterwards the great family of Mortimer, earls of March in England.

2. Plunket became earls of Fingal; and branches of them barons of Dunsaney, and earls of Louth.

3. Preston, viscounts Gormanstown; and another branch of them viscounts of Tara.

4. Barnwall, barons of Trimblestown, and viscounts Kingsland.

5. Neterville, barons of Dowth.

6. Bellew, barons of Duleek.[1]

7. Darcy, of Platten, some of whom were barons of Navan. The family of Jones were afterwards barons of Navan.

8. Cusack, barons of Clonmullen.

9. FitzEustace (see the "Eustace" pedigree), barons of Portlester

10. De Bathe of Athcarn.

11. Dowdall, of Athlumney.

12. Fleming, of Stalhomock.

13. Betagh (or Beatty), of Moynalty.

14. Cruise, of Cruisetown and Cruise-Rath, etc.

15. Drake, of Drake-Rath.

16. Corbally.

17. Everard.

18. Cheever, some of whom had the title of barons of Mount Leinster.

19. Dardis.

20. Delahoyd.

21. Balffe.

22. Berford or Bedford.

23. Caddell.

24. Scurlock or Sherlock.

25. Dillon.

In modern times the following families:—

26. Brabazon, earls of Meath.

27. Butler, barons of Dunboyne.

28. Wharton, Baron of Trim.

29. Schomberg, Viscount Tara.

30. Cholmondeley (modernized "Chomley"), Viscount Kells.

31. Hamilton, Viscount Boyne.

32. Colley Welsley or Wellesley, of Dangan, Earl of Mornington, afterwards Marquis Wellesley, and Duke of Wellington.

33. Taylor, earls of Bective, and marquises of Headfort.

34. Bligh, earls of Darnley.

35. The Marquis Conyngham, at Slane.

36. Langford Rowley, Baron of Summerhill.

37. Gerard, Garnet, Barnes, Lambert, Nappier of Loughcrew, Waller, Tisdall or Tiesdale, Winter, Coddington, Nicholson, and Thomson, respectable families in modern times in Meath.


[1] Duleek: This word is in Irish "Doimhliag," signifying a house made of stone. This village was formerly a parliamentary borough; and in early times was the seat of a small diocese afterwards united to the see of Meath.