This county is partly in the diocese of Ardagh, but chiefly in that of Meath, and in the province of Armagh. For purposes of civil jurisdiction it is divided into the baronies of Brawney, Clonlonan, Corkaree, Delvin, Demifore, Farbill, Fartullagh, Kilkenny West, Moyashel and Magheradernan, Moycashel, Moygoish, and Rathconrath. It contains the market and assize town of Mullingar, part of the borough and market town of Athlone, the corporate and market town of Kilbeggan; the market and post towns of Moate, Rathowen, Castletown-Delvin, Ballinacargy, and Clonmellon; the market-town of Collinstown; and the post-towns of Castlepollard, Kinnegad, Ballymore, Tyrrells-Pass, Killucan, Rochfort Bridge, and Drumcree: the largest villages are Finae (which has a penny post), Coole, Castletown, and Rathconrath. It sent ten members to the Irish parliament, two for the county and two for each of the boroughs of Athlone, Mullingar, Kilbeggan, and Fore, the last of which is now a small village; since the Union it has returned three members to the Imperial parliament, two for the county, and one for the borough of Athlone.

The county constituency, as registered up to the beginning of 1837, consists of 302 freeholders of £50, 146 of £20, and 1079 of £10; 13 leaseholders of £20, and 110 of £10; making a total of 1650 registered voters. The election takes place at Mullingar. Westmeath is included in the Home Circuit: the assizes are held at Mullingar, where the county court-house and gaol are situated; general quarter sessions are held alternately at Mullingar and Moate, and at the latter place are a court-house and bridewell. The local government is vested in a lieutenant, 7 deputy-lieutenants, and 94 other magistrates. There are 47 constabulary police stations, having a force of 1 stipendiary magistrate, 1 sub-inspector, 6 chief officers, 50 constables, 222 men, and 9 horses. The district lunatic asylum is at Maryborough, the county infirmary at Mullingar, and the fever hospital at Castlepollard: there are dispensaries at Glasson, Ballynacarrig, Multifarnham, Street, Killucan, Kinnegad, Tyrrell's-Pass, Moate, Kilbeggan, Athlone, Castletown-Delvin, Drumcree, Clonmellon, Milltown, and Castlepollard, supported by Grand Jury presentments and private subscriptions in equal proportions.

The Grand Jury presentments for 1835 amounted to £23,296. 14. 8 ¼., of which £15. 7. 0. was for the roads, bridges, &c., being the county charge; £609. 0. 10 ½. for the roads, bridges, &c., being the baronial charge; £8837. 3. 4 ¼. for public buildings, charities, officers' salaries, and incidents; £5618. 14. 3 ¾. for the police, and £8216. 9. 1 ¾. for repayment of advances made by Government. In the military arrangements the county is included in the western district, of which Athlone is the head-quarters, where there are two barracks, one for artillery and the other for infantry, which, with an infantry station at Mullingar, afford accommodation for 80 officers and 1806 non-commissioned officers and men, with 208 horses.

County Westmeath | Westmeath Towns and Baronies | Westmeath Topography | Westmeath Agriculture | Westmeath Geology | Westmeath Manufacturing | Westmeath Rivers | Westmeath Antiquities | Westmeath Society

Search Topographical Dictionary of Ireland »