Edermine - Wexford Guide and Directory, 1885

About “Wexford County Guide and Directory,” 1885

George Henry Bassett produced 7 Irish county directories in the 1880s: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Kilkenny, Louth, Tipperary and Wexford. Each provides useful history of the respective counties as well as lists of office holders, farmers, traders, and other residents of the individual cities, towns and villages.

Read more »

The directories are naturally an invaluable resource for those tracing family history. However, there are a few points to bear in mind.

  1. This online version of Bassett’s Wexford County Guide and Directory is designed primarily as a genealogical research tool and therefore the numerous advertisements in the original book, many full page, and quite a few illustrated, have been excluded.
  2. The text has been proofed with due care, but with large bodies of text typographical errors are inevitably bound to occur.
  3. Be aware that there were often inconsistencies in spelling surnames in the 19th century and also that many forenames are abbreviated in Bassett’s directories.

With respect to the last point, surnames which today begin with the “Mc” prefix, for example, were often formerly spelt as “M‘,”. For a list of some of the more common forename abbreviations used in the directory, see Forename Abbreviations.

Show less

TWO roads, both most agreeable drives, lead from Enniscorthy to Edermine, the residence of Sir John Power, Bart. It is well to go by one and return by the other. The lower road is deeply shaded with trees for the greater part of the way. On the left, within sight of the town, are the extensive and handsome buildings of the Lunatic Asylum, which possess almost unequalled advantages in situation. Further along the picturesque Moatabeg Mill, with big water-wheel and pleasant shade trees, marks another point for admiration. A short distance from Edermine is Brownswood Castle, about three miles from Enniscorthy. This bit of ruin is favored with the happiest surroundings. It is in a hollow, a few yards from the river bank, upon a velvetty turf, with occasional shade, and consists of a single thick wall, with two windows. Edermine is an excellent picture of a comfortable home. Its well-kept grounds are open for inspection by tourists. The gardens are at the top of a terrace, which commands an extensive view of the Slaney. At the rere, concealed by trees and thick shrubbery, is a small lake of unique design. It is circular, and has an island of the same shape, reached by two pretty foot-bridges. This island is laid out in flower-beds, those around the edge being in the form of a chain. A statue occupies the centre. Returning to Enniscorthy by the upper road Garrynisk Church is on the left. At the opposite side is the Rectory of the Rev. Frederic Thompson.

Search for a copy of Bassett’s Wexford Guide and Directory, 1885