Arthurstown and Ballyhack - Wexford Guide and Directory, 1885

About “Wexford County Guide and Directory,” 1885

George Henry Bassett produced 7 Irish county directories in the 1880s: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Kilkenny, Louth, Tipperary and Wexford. Each provides useful history of the respective counties as well as lists of office holders, farmers, traders, and other residents of the individual cities, towns and villages.

Read more »

The directories are naturally an invaluable resource for those tracing family history. However, there are a few points to bear in mind.

  1. This online version of Bassett’s Wexford County Guide and Directory is designed primarily as a genealogical research tool and therefore the numerous advertisements in the original book, many full page, and quite a few illustrated, have been excluded.
  2. The text has been proofed with due care, but with large bodies of text typographical errors are inevitably bound to occur.
  3. Be aware that there were often inconsistencies in spelling surnames in the 19th century and also that many forenames are abbreviated in Bassett’s directories.

With respect to the last point, surnames which today begin with the “Mc” prefix, for example, were often formerly spelt as “M‘,”. For a list of some of the more common forename abbreviations used in the directory, see Forename Abbreviations.

Show less

ARTHURSTOWN is a handsome village with 171 inhabitants, 9½ miles, Irish, from New Ross. It is situated 3 miles below the junction of the Barrow and Suir, on Waterford Harbour, and has a quay and pier 306 feet long. At the opposite side of the harbour is the well built village of Passage, Co. Waterford. Ballyhack, a fishing village of about 100 population, in which a fowl market is held every Thursday, and several old fairs, is one mile distant. It has a daily steamer service to Waterford. Lord Templemore is the owner of Arthurstown, and his beautiful residence, Dunbrody Park, is in the vicinity. The post-office is at Arthurstown.

Rev. T. Doyle, P.P., Ramsgrange

Rev. Pk. Doyle, C.C., Ballystraw

Rev. W. R. Supple, I.C., Clonsbarra

Israel Wallace, Post Master and Clerk of Petty Sessions. Court held first Thursday of each month

John De Rinzey, Dispensary Doctor; James Berney, Relieving Officer; Constable Morrison, R.I.C.

National Schools, Ramsgrange and Ballyhack, taught by nuns of St. Catherina’s Convent, Ramsgrange


Bakers, Coal dealers, etc.—Murphy, Sutton, and Quinn, Jas. Neill

Drapers—Murphy, Sutton, and Quinn, Margt. Olden, I. & W. Wallace

Grocers—Margt. Olden, I. & W. Wallace

Grocers and Spirit Dealers—John Commins and Bridget Roche, Ballyhack; Murphy, Sutton, and Quinn, and Jas. Neill, Arthurstown


Ahern, John, Shelbaggan

Barron, James, Ramsgrange

Barry, David, Shelbaggin

Browne, James, Coole

Brown, James, Ballyhack

Brown, Wm., Ballyhack

Burke, Mathew, Coleman

Burke, Walter, Nook

Carroll, James, Coole

Carthy, Methew, Rathimney

Chapman, Michael, Ramsgrange

Cheevers, Peter, Ballyhack

Chichester, Hon. F., Coleman

Clegg, John, Kilbride

Colfer, James, Boderan

Colfer, Stephen, Boderan

Connors, Denis, Ballyvelig

Connors, Hugh, Rathimney

Connors, John, Saltmills

Connors, Philip, Monachee

Costello, John, Battlestown

Devereux, William, Shelbaggan

Devereux, Robert, Battlestown

Doyle, Francis, Boderan

Dwyer, Laurence, Boderan

Egan, Thomas, Boley

Elmes, Samuel, P., Ballinruan

Farrell, Joseph, Rosetown

Fenlon, Arthur, Coleman

Finn, John, Kilhile

Foley, William, Rathimney

Foren, James

Forrestal, Patrick, Boderan

Furlong, Patrick

Gunnip, Patrick, Nook

Hanlon, Michael

Howlett, John, Coole

Howlett, Michael, Shelbaggin

Howlett, Nicholas, Monacohee

Kent, Nicholas, Shelbaggan

Keogh, Patrick, Battlestown

Larkin, Francis, Rathimney

Larkin, Thomas, Tullerstown

M‘Grath, Thomas, Kilbride

Mealy, John, Ballyhack

Mowat, John, Shelbaggan

Murphy, James, Ramsgrange

Murphy, Patrick, Tullarst

Murphy, Peter, Ballyvelick

Murphy, William, Ballyhack

Neill, Michael, Rathimney

Neill, Patrick, Boderan

Power, John, Coole

Power, Michael, Tullerstown

Power, William, Ramsgrange

Rossiter, James, Battlestown

Shea, Thomas, Nook

Sinnott, James, Ramsgrange

Templemore, Lord, Dunbrody park

Wallace, Philip, Coleman

Walsh, James, Coleman

Walsh, John, Rosetown

Walsh, Michael, Ramsgrange

Walsh, Simon, Coleman

Walsh, Walter, Battlestown

White, William, Kilhile

Whitty, Peter, Coole


LETTERS addressed to residents of sub post-offices should have the name of the head office legibly written in the right lower corner of the envelope. The villages described in the following list, although in the County Wexford, are, for convenience sake, served through the Waterford post-office.

Search for a copy of Bassett’s Wexford Guide and Directory, 1885